Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our Governors’ section.

North Cotswold Schools Federation's Instrument of Government was sealed on 6th October 2020.


Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured. Please see the PDF below with the governors roles and responsibilities. 

Forename Surname Governor Category Start date End date
Jo Bowen-Jones Co-opted 08.10.20 07.10.24
Rachel Burns Parent 05.10.20 04.10.24
Sophie  Burrard-Lucas Foundation 01.10.20 30.09.24
Robin Davis Co-opted 08.10.20 07.10.24
Mark John Foundation 01.10.20 30.09.24
Jamie Macdonald Foundation 01.10.20 30.09.24
Anna  Mason Staff 01.10.20 30.09.24
Martin Nicholas Foundation 01.10.20 30.09.24
Cerys Purser Co-opted 08.10.20 07.10.24
Clare  Saunders Co-opted 08.10.20 07.10.24
Casie Satchwell Foundation 01.10.20 30.09.24
Katrina Scott Co-opted 08.10.20 07.10.24
Martin  Short Ex-Officio 01.10.20 30.09.24
Alexandra Symondson Headteacher 01.10.20 30.09.24
Amanda Tudor Local Authority 08.10.20 07.10.24
Andrew Webber Parent 05.10.20 04.10.24
Sarah  Longbottom Clerk ------ ------


Any communication with the Governors should be addressed to the Clerk. The email address is 


Previous Governors since the formation of the North Cotswold Schools Federation:  

Graham Doswell (Co-opted) ended 05.10.2020

Sarah Harkness (Co-opted) ended 05.10.2020

Mark Fremantle ended 05.10.2020

Sue Pearce (LA) February 2019 - November 2019

Anne McNally (Foundation) Sept 2016 - Oct 2019

Mike Prior (Foundation) Sept 2016 - July 2019

Simone Hourihan (Parent) December 2017 - July 2019

Steve McHale (LA) Sept 2016 - February 2019

Martin Hobbs (Co-opted) September 2016 - June 2018

Katie Walker (Staff) September 2016 - 

Matthew Bamfield (Staff) 

Emma Clark (Parent) September 2016 - 

Chair of the Governing Board: Martin Nicholas, Foundation  


A retired GP who worked in Cheltenham I am a former pupil of Cold Aston School and I still live in the village, where I keep a flock of sheep on the remnant of the family farm.  I'm still active in GP education, and am keen for our rural schools to thrive and develop.  In time off I walk, run, bike and ski, enjoy theatre and cinema. 


Vice-Chair of the Governing Board: Jo Bowen-Jones, Co-Opted 


I am a busy Mum of two, one child at the St James site and one child at CCS in Chipping Campden. My husband is an arable farmer so home life is hectic at times ! I have worked in a variety of roles in the past, gaining experience in people management, budgeting, financial planning, print procurement in the digital and litho sectors, project management for a multi-national company and most recently, a career change into the Early Years sector, where I worked at a local playgroup for a number of years.

I feel very strongly about safeguarding for all children and staff, and for every child to have equal and fair opportunities to enable them to develop and progress to the best of their abilities, with all of the support that they need to achieve this.

The opportunity that we have to work with all of the schools within the NCSF to develop and grow all children to their full potential is fantastic and I am looking forward to working with everyone involved to achieve great things for our schools.


Andrew Webber, Parent Governor 


Hello my name is Andrew Webber and I have recently been elected as a parent governor for the NCSF. I have worked in education for the past 12 years as a primary teacher, currently I am a teacher and part of the leadership team at a school in Oxfordshire. I have previously been an Acting Head Teacher and also part of the county writing moderator team. From a personal and professional perspective, I have a commitment to improving the standards of education for all young people, and as a local resident and former pupil of Longborough, I am looking forward to being able to play a part in the ongoing success story of NCSF

Katrina Scott, Co-opted 


Katrina is Area Dean in the Church of England for the North Cotswold area, and as such works closely with our local churches and clergy. Katrina was appointed as an additional Governor of St. James' and Ebrington Church of England School in May 2016, and in May 2017 Katrina took on the ex-officio Foundation Governor role and the Chair position.


She has been a governor of 6 schools over the past 20 years, in both urban and rural settings, including a range in size, structure and stage of schooling too. Katrina enjoys the opportunity to work with schools to offer the best possible experience of education that engages with the whole child and develops their potential.


Within this Governing Body, Katrina is keen to develop good relationships with our communities, staff, churches and to see the Schools go from strength to strength.


Clare Saunders, Co-opted 


Clare Saunders lives in Cold Aston and her four children all started their education at Cold Aston Primary School. She is a former secondary school English teacher who now works for an education trust. She is currently serving her second year as a co-opted Governor and chairs the Standards Committee. She is also a member of the English, Phonics, Reading and Writing focus group.